Safari Heading to Finland as Fulbright Scholar

Safari Heading to Finland as Fulbright Scholar
Photo: Head Shot of Argene Safari
Photo Credit: Ms. Laura Stiles

Mrs. Argine Safari, music teacher at Pascack Valley High School, has received a Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching grant to Finland from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. 

Mrs. Safari is one of approximately 35 U.S. citizens who will travel abroad through the Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Program in 2018-2019. Mrs. Safari will travel to Finland in January 2019 to develop a global collaborative project with the University of the Arts Helsinki, Sibelius Academy, several Finnish schools, and her own district. 

Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement and demonstrated leadership potential. Mrs. Safari is a Grammy-nominated educator who is the 2018 NJEA Arts Educator of the Year, the 2018 Lowell Milken Center Fellow, the 2017 New Jersey State Teacher of the Year, the 2017 Evangelina Menendez Trailblazer, the NEA Foundation 2018 Teaching Excellence Award recipient, and the 2010 Princeton University Distinguished Scholar. Mrs. Safari is currently pursuing her Ph.D. in Learning, Instruction, and Innovation.
Photo: Head Shot of Argine Safari
While in Finland, Mrs. Safari will conduct research on four projects that will directly impact and improve our district offerings.  These projects include: a Global Collaborative Curriculum to be developed with our Social Studies department; collaborative Wellness initiative with a district from Finland; exploring ways to help improve professional development of our faculty; and, sharing of Fulbright experience with our community in an effort to share in ways we can all help our district grow.

We are tremendously proud of Mrs. Safari's continued success, and look forward to leveraging her Fulbright experience for the growth of our students, staff, and community. 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.